Happy Space

"Go to your happy place"
 
Where is that place exactly? I was sitting in the doctor’s chair getting blood drawn. (This is NOT my happy place) It isn’t the needle going INTO my arm that causes me a problem (I don’t think). Once it is in there I get this sensation of heaviness in the pit of my stomach. My palms itch. My saliva starts to have a metal "taste". Everything starts to sound like it’s coming through a tunnel and I feel as though I am about to lose consciousness or puke. Or both.
 
So I just told B not to cry about it, and she is waiting for me in the lobby. I am going to show how a grown up gets a needle. I am just not feeling very grown up right now. In fact I am feeling more in touch with my inner child than I have since the last time I got a needle!
 
I am now concentrating on how to be brave and all my concentration doesn’t remove the weight in my gut. So I think "go to your happy place". Unfortunately I do not have a "happy place" ready to access. I need to build a happy place. It turns out I need this happy place in more situations than the doctors chair. I need this happy place at work. When I find this happy place I am moving there permanently.
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment